Summer in a Small Town

Hey friends!

Just thought I would take this opportunity to reflect upon my summer thus far and update you on the happenings of my life however exciting (or unexciting) those may be 😉

I am back to living in my grandparent’s basement. Sometimes when grandma calls me up for meals I feel like I may know what it’s like to be a 30-year-old schmuck living at home escaping the realities of adulthood. But then I remember this is only interim and that I will hang out here til I pass my board!

I go to the public library almost everyday to use their internet and study for my board exam. I’m using the Pass the OT study plan, Therapy Ed book for reference, AOTA PDFs and questions and the Occupational Therapy Examination Review Guide by Johnson (the ‘purple book’). Thus far in my studying, I have discovered I enjoy studying for upper extremity evaluation & intervention (which surprised me), and I also found that studying for pediatrics continues to be a struggle (it is SO specialized!). It has been a lot of fun drawing diagrams, labeling my hand and wrist with marker to remember the zones for extensor tendon and flexor tendon injuries and talking with some of my classmates on the phone reviewing the information together.

When I’m not studying or running and walking Miss Pearl, I am working at Fareway in Emmetsburg. This has been an interesting experience and fairly humbling. I think I had forgotten how different the work ethic of an almost 27-year-old can be from that of a 15-year-old… I think the experience will have me feeling super excited to be gainfully employed as an Occupational Therapist.

Another change in life plans includes my plans to leave the state. In April, I noticed an opening for an Occupational Therapist in Lake City, IA, and applied to it. Admittedly, this was originally mostly out of curiosity. Once called in for an interview, I discovered how welcoming the community was and just how much I could stand to learn in this mixed settings growth position. Two interviews later and after much thought, I accepted the position and will be working as a therapist at Stewart Memorial Community Hospital in Lake City, IA. I will be working in inpatient, outpatient, home health and skilled nursing facility settings while also spending some time helping with an occupational health program.  I will begin August 21, 2017! ♥ Though my dream was to either leave for Denver, CO, or Dallas, TX, for an adventure and a job, I think God has other plans for me. I will take this opportunity to learn as much as I can in a mixed settings position and spend as much time with my family as possible. With my little sister gearing up to have my first niece or nephew, it will be nice to be working just minutes from where she and my brother-in-law live.

Well, back to the books. I am so happy for all of my classmates who have passed the board and will continue to pray for those who have yet to take it! We know more than we think, and we will clear this last hurdle before beginning in our vocation!

Thanks for reading my update and have a blessed week ♥,

Amanda

P.S. I forgot to mention that I finally graduated May 13, 2017 (yay!) and then went on a road trip to Dallas, TX, with my best friend as a way to kick off summer! And I don’t think there are any other ‘monumental’ details I failed to mention… 😉

IMG_0339

 

Leave a Reply

